I wanna live in a treehouse

When I was young, I saw the movie version of Swiss Family Robinson. I remember pretty much nothing about the movie or its plot, beyond the vaguest outlines, but I always remembered, vividly, the treehouse. And I’ve wanted to live in one ever since, probably even before.

Are there people who aren’t fascinated by the idea of living in a treehouse? I mean, besides people who fear heights, or people who already do, or, you know, weird people. It certainly seems there are a lot of people interested in the idea besides me, at any rate. Because of this darn BBC article about a Bangladeshi man who has built a relaxation platform high in a tree, where he goes to read every day, my interest in treehouses was rekindled.

Now I am plagued, I tell you, plagued with the knowledge that there are, in fact, a variety of treehouse resorts and retreats, in places as exotically exciting as Australia and India. Not to mention the companies that would be ever so willing to build me a treehouse of my very own. Take my advice, don’t look at the pictures. Don’t! Look away! Or you’ll end up wanting one, too. Some of them have turrets!

And just because it was on one of those websites, and I liked it, a poem:

A Tree House

A tree house, a free house,
A secret you and me house,
A high up in the leafy branches
Cozy as can be house.

A street house, a neat house
Be sure and wipe your feet house
Is not my kind of house at all.
Let’s go live in a tree house.

-by Shel Silverstein

I want one!

12 Responses to I wanna live in a treehouse

  1. Dana says:

    It also occurs to me now that my interest in treehouses extends to a variety of other spaces, namely small, somewhat hidden, out of the way spaces, like those little rooms over porches or garages, or turrets, or attics, or dormer windows.

    Anyway, I don’t really know what my dream house would look like, although I certainly think it would be cool if it could be a treehouse, but I do know that it would have a library, and the library will have small, hidden places to sit and read.

    Any other dream house requirements for people out there?

  2. TheGant says:

    My fiance and I discuss a dreamhouse all the time. He wants a state of the art kitchen (he went to culinary school). I want a big library, with floor to ceiling bookshelves and those ladders on wheels. We also want a bedroom that is simply a big mattress/futon, with pillows all over it. Possibly octogon shape, the room that is. And the rest of the house should be traditional Japanese in style.

    I never had a thing for tree houses persay, but I always wanted to live in a tree city. This is probably the fault of my reading The Lord of the Rings as a kid.

  3. Dana says:

    Oh, goodness, yes, a tree city would be the most awesome thing ever. I think, between LotR and Mercedes Lackey, I never had a chance.

  4. Brandon says:

    It’s funny. when I see or hear the word ‘treehouse’ I think of The Swiss Family Robinson movie. That is so weird.

  5. akdmyers says:

    I’ve never had a particular desire for a treehouse, but I definitely share Dana’s love of turrets and gables and other unusual spaces. I have always wanted a windowseat. Various books I read as a child (unfortunately I can’t remember now which ones specifically) featured children hiding from things behind curtains on windowseats, or sitting and reading on windowseats, etc. A windowseat in a bay window would be heaven.

    I had a friend for while growing up whose dad had made her the best playhouse ever – it had two stories, a porch, a balcony, shuttered windows, and a table and stools. That was probably the closest I ever got to playing in a treehouse, and it was heavenly.

  6. laikal says:

    I saw some really hot treehouses in Dwell a few months ago.

    There’s something to be said for it :).

    Ah! Here: http://www.dwell.com/inhabit/dwellings/3462551.html

  7. laikal says:

    (Yes, I read Dwell. I’m like that.)

  8. laikal says:

    Erm, that article sucks. Sorry. The actual article in the magazine was way cooler.

  9. Mark says:

    Maybe you should schedule yourself for an MRI…

    That makes no sense if you haven’t read the comic: http://www.xkcd.com/c212.html

    Alright, maybe not after you’ve read it, either, but the chances improve.

  10. Mark says:

    I admit, in the cold light of day, that my last comment was silly. I claim fatigue and low bloodsugar as my excuses. Regardless, the comic is entertaining. I could just delete the comment (I do have that power, after all), but that seems to go against the spirit of the thing.

  11. […] The amount of brainspace always devoted to creating the ultimate treehouse, which is a topic we have also addressed here. […]

  12. Debty says:

    Ahaan… I will follow.

Leave a Reply

