Heirloom Tomatoes: Centerfold

Here are some pictures of last year’s crop of heirloom tomatoes from B Barron, taken in goshawk’s kitchen. (We all live in the same neighborhood.) They were delicious as well as beautiful.

Red Heirloom Tomatoes

Green Heirloom Tomatoes

And now, a song:

Homegrown Tomatoes
by Guy Clark

Ain’t nothin’ in the world that I like better
Than bacon & lettuce & homegrown tomatoes
Up in the mornin’ out in the garden

Get you a ripe one don’t get a hard one
Plant ’em in the spring eat ’em in the summer
All winter with out ’em’s a culinary bummer
I forget all about the sweatin’ & diggin’
Everytime I go out & pick me a big one

Homegrown tomatoes homegrown tomatoes
What’d life be without homegrown tomatoes
Only two things that money can’t buy
That’s true love & homegrown tomatoes

You can go out to eat & that’s for sure
But it’s nothin’ a homegrown tomato won’t cure
Put ’em in a salad, put ’em in a stew
You can make your very own to-mah-to juice
Eat ’em with eggs, eat ’em with gravy
Eat ’em with beans, pinto or navy
Put ’em on the side put ’em in the middle
Put a homegrown tomato on a hotcake griddle

If I’s to change this life I lead
I’d be Johnny Tomato Seed
‘Cause I know what this country needs
Homegrown tomatoes in every yard you see
When I die don’t bury me
In a box in a cemetary
Out in the garden would be much better
I could be pushin’ up homegrown tomatoes

4 Responses to Heirloom Tomatoes: Centerfold

  1. goshawk says:

    Nice photographs.

  2. Dana says:

    Thank you. Don’t you have a lovely kitchen counter?

  3. Kevin says:

    I’d just point out that I think it would be cool if we ended all our blog entries with a song. Let’s start the tradition now!

  4. Dana says:

    I’m sorry, Kevin, I didn’t know Metallica had a song about tomatoes.

    :-p

Leave a Reply

