Only 56 shopping days left!

I love the holidays as much as the next person.

In fact, I might love them *more* than the next person. I have so many plans for Thanksigiving that I can’t wait the three weeks and two days until it actually happens.

I have most of my Christmas presents figured out.

But… things are a little ridiculous. I’m growing used to seeing Christmas in stores before Halloween. (Especially after living in Europe, where they lack the Thanksgiving holiday buffer.) But tonight was not cool. Not cool at all.

What I’m not used to is living someplace where we might actually get trick-or-treaters, so tonight I stopped off at the grocery store to get some candy for tomorrow.

Only, all the Halloween candy was gone, and there was only Christmas candy.

Dear Children of Northern Virginia,

I apologize for the Christmas colored York Peppermint Patties you will be recieving if you come to my house this year. Next year, I will buy my candy in September. It might be a little stale, but it won’t feature snowflakes.

Forgive me,

Jennie

–posted by kidsilkhaze

3 Responses to Only 56 shopping days left!

  1. sonetka says:

    Peppermint patties? I don’t care if they’re wrapped in Confederate flags, can I have some? šŸ™‚

  2. Melanie says:

    Previous comment, hilarious.

    As for Christmas overstepping it’s boundaries in the stores – I hear ya! What is with that!?

    I still want to enjoy the Fall season with all of it’s decor.

  3. Ahhh… longing for distinct holiday seasons. Who created Hallo-giving-istmas?

    I also long for distinct seasons in general. Here in southern California, it’s always spring. This might not sound like a bad thing, but I do miss a nice dusting of snow.

    Ok, not much. I can live without it.

Leave a Reply

