Chinese Food: The Open Source McDonald’s

Jennifer 8 Lee gave a TED talk on the rampant spread of Chinese food throughout the US and the world, which is as entertaining as it is informative.

For those of you who have never heard of Jennifer 8 Lee, she’s the author of The Fortune Cookie Chronicles: Adventures in the World of Chinese Food. I first heard about the book from the NPR review of the book last year, but fellow Geek Buffeteer Jennie also reviewed it over at Biblio File. I have yet to read it, but I really, really want to.

Now I’m hungry…

-posted by Dana

5 Responses to Chinese Food: The Open Source McDonald’s

  1. Mike says:

    I always wished I’d somehow gotten to attend the legendary D.C. parties where Lee and friends used a grand piano as a wet bar.

  2. Dana says:

    Goodness, Mike, how raucous!

  3. guyintheblackhat says:

    What a lecturer! Then again, I don’t know if changing slides every split second is a teaching route I’d be comfortable with…

  4. […] part of this blog’s continuing effort to document the decline of civilization from the perspective of the career of Jenn… (that’s the project, right, Dana?), I would like to note that Lee has not only a […]

Leave a Reply

