Attention: JT365 Photo Project

Today, Jeremy Tolbert (friend of many of us here at the Buffet) started his JT365 project. He intends to take and post a picture every day for a year. If you somehow foolishly failed to check out his Dr. Roundbottom project back when I first linked to it, you may have been unaware that Mr. Tolbert can do amazing things with a camera. Now you have another chance to discover this!

Today’s picture is an an almost eerily futuristic look at a grain silo. Go look.

See? Isn’t it neat?

A note about Jeremy’s photos. One of the commenters on his regular blog noted that his photos often look “tweaked.” Jeremy’s response was interesting to me, because I think most of us who just point-and-shoot don’t often think about the art of photography:

Well, yeah, they’re HDR. That’s kind of the point. I don’t believe in taking photographs, I believe in making them. I can understand your point of view, of course, but what I do isn’t documentary-style photography.

I am personally of the opinion that this makes his stuff all the more interesting, because it’s certainly not anything I can do with a camera. I look forward to the coming year.

-Dana

4 Responses to Attention: JT365 Photo Project

  1. TheGnat says:

    What does HDR stand for, in this case?

    I can’t say I’m terribly interested in his “tweaked” photos without also knowing his methods. You know, saying “taken with X camera, using X settings” etc. And if it’s been digitally edited, I really can’t enjoy them as photographs. Since I don’t know what he means by HDR, and he doesn’t talk about his methods on his site, I’m just sort of completely disinterested. It’s probably because I grew up on lots and lots of “documentary” photos (which I consider artistic in their own right)…

  2. “It’s probably because I grew up on lots and lots of “documentary” photos (which I consider artistic in their own right)…”

    Having spent many an hour in a darkroom, I would suggest that there are just as many tweaks and tricks to developing a “traditional” photograph as there are with modern digital ones. Or did you really think that Ansel Adams just set up his camera, released the shutter, and genius was born without any additional work?

  3. TheGnat says:

    Andrew, you appear to have completely misread what I said. What I said clearly indicated that I am aware of dark room techniques, and I don’t, generally, have a problem with them. If you had not concluded your reply in such an insulting tone, I’d probably have just ignored your misunderstanding, but really, I can’t abide insult and misunderstanding for no reason at all. I said “documentary”, not “traditional”. I said I’d be more interested if I knew the methods. And you take this to mean I’m an ignorant, old-fashioned, analog elitist, or something?

    Dana, thank you for the link. When I tried looking it up, I got too many different options!

Leave a Reply

